Vhembe District Municipality Mayoral Bursary

By | December 29, 2019

Vhembe District Municipality Mayoral Bursary

Vhembe District Municipality Mayoral Bursary

Vhembe District Municipality Mayoral Bursary


Vhembe is based in the Limpopo province and is the northern-most district of South Africa, bordering on Zimbabwe; Mozambique and Botswana. The Vhembe District Municipality was established in 2000 and have their head quarters based in Thohoyandou. Made up of 4 local municipalities: Mutale, Musina, Makhado and Thulamela.

Vhembe has a population of more than 1.1 million residents, is one of Limpopo’s 5 districts and covers an area of over 21 000 km2. Majority of the population speak TshiVenda, followed by Xitsonga and then Northern Sotho.

The municipality consists of territories that were previously part of Venda Bantustan, as well as two other districts, namely Hlanganani and Malamulele. The main towns of the Vhembe Municipality include: Elim; Musina; Makhado; Malamulele; Thohoyandou; Tshilamba; Sibasa and Dzanani.


Vhembe District Municipality are offering bursary awards to students who are studying (or intend on studying) within the following fields:

  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Regional and Town Planning
  • Environmental Management
  • Disaster Management
  • Waste Management
  • Hydrology and Water Management
  • Tourism
  • Agriculture
  • Information Technology
  • Accounting: B Com
  • Financial Accounting
  • Finance and Auditing
  • Economics and Business Management
  • Administration

Shortlisted candidates will be contacted – if you have not received any feedback within 3 months of the bursary deadline, regard your application as unsuccessful.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Completed Matric OR currently in Matric
  • Reside within the Vhembe District area
  • Studying or intend on studying within one of the aforementioned fields of study
  • Studying or intend on studying at a recognised tertiary institute in South Africa
  • *Preference will be given to students from disadvantaged backgrounds


Application forms can be collected from one of the following locations:
1) Vhembe District Municipality: Old Parliament, Government Complex, Tusk Venda Street, Thohoyandou, Limpopo 09506
2) Musina Local Municipality: 21 Irwin Street, Musina, 0900
3) Makhado Local Municipality: Civic Center, No 83 Krogh Street, Louis Trichardt, 0920
4) Thulamela Local Municipality: Thohoyandou Civic Centre, Old Agriven Building, Thohoyandou
5) Collins Chabane Local Municipality: DCO Offices, Hospital Road, Malamulele, 0982
Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document/ birth certificate (certified copy)
  • Matric June results, if currently in Matric (certified copy)
  • Reference letter from your school principal, if currently in Matric
  • Matric certificate, if completed in Matric (certified copy)
  • Full academic record, if currently at tertiary level (certified copy)
  • Parents/ guardians ID documents/ birth certificates (certified copies)
  • Parents/ guardians proof of income (latest payslips if employed/ affidavit if unemployed)
  • Proof of residence from SANCO/ Head Man/ Civic


29 November
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the Vhembe District Municipality directly:
Executive Mayor’s Office
Tel: 015 960 2008/ 015 960 2012

Vhembe District Municipality Mayoral Bursary

for more infor visit vhembe.gov.za

Very Useful Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *