South African Geomatics Council Bursary

By | January 1, 2020

South African Geomatics Council Bursary


South African Geomatics Council Bursary

South African Geomatics Council Bursary

South African Geomatics Council Bursary

The South African Geomatics Council (formerly the “South African Council for Professional and Technical Surveyors-PLATO”) is a committee of elected members, all of whom are GISc qualified professionals; surveyors; technical surveyors and technical surveyors must be registered.

This scholarship will be awarded to a student who is enrolling or studying in the following fields:

  • Surveying/Surveying and Mapping (BSC)
  • Surveying/Mine Surveying/Surveying and Mapping (Bachelor of Technology)
  • Surveying/Mine Surveying/GIS (Diploma)

Please note:

Students who have completed a university degree must register as a GISc surveyor or professional practitioner within 4 years after completing the bachelor’s degree.

Students who complete the national diploma must register as a mine surveying technician/topographic technician/GIS technician within 2 years of completing the national diploma.

* Read the scholarship conditions on pages 4 and 5 of the scholarship application form.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Completed Matric
  • Studying towards one of the aforementioned qualifications
  • Registered to study at a recognized University or University of Technology in South Africa

The following South African Universities and Universities of Technology offer these qualifications:
Land and Engineering Surveying: University of Cape Town; University of KwaZulu-Natal; Durban University of Technology; Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Tshwane University of Technology; Mangosuthu University of Technology

Mine Surveying: University of Johannesburg; University of South Africa

Geo-Information Science: University of Cape Town; University of Stellenbosch; University of Pretoria; University of the Free State; Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Esri South Africa


Download and complete the South African Geomatics Council Bursary Application Form (.pdf)
Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy of)
  • Matric certificate (certified copy of)
  • Tertiary qualifications certificates (certified copy of)
  • June and November exam results (certified copy of)
  • Proof of registration at University/ University of Technology
  • Provisional acceptance letter at University/ University of Technology

Complete application forms and supporting documents must be posted to:
South African Geomatics Council
P O Box 83018
South Hills


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the SAGC directly:
South African Geomatics Council
Contact Person: Mari Pater (Mari Pater)
Tel: 011 626 1040 /1080
Fax: 011 626 2007

for more info visit

Very Useful Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *